Playing with Light #CQintervention

So you will have probably seen from my recent TEDx talk that I am working on a Tactical Place Making proposal for Sadler Square in the Cathedral Quarter, Derby. In my talk I describe two of the elements of the project; sculptural installation and performance installation but there is a third element that I have been working on – lighting installations.

The sculptural piece and the performance piece both incorporate elements of light to give the whole area night appeal but to connect these two pieces I will be installing smaller lighting installations along the route in between. By doing this I hope to turn the space I am working in into a creative path to visit.

Blocked up Window for Lighting Installation in #SadlerSquare

Blocked up Window for Lighting Installation in #SadlerSquare

The first piece is designed to fit into a blocked up window along the wall from the archway. It is inspired by two projects. The community project by Beforelight which used an eclectic collection of lampshades hung in the public space, and a wooden curtain by OMA. I was interested in combining these two idea by creating a wooden curtain made up of 2D representations of different lampshade designs.

I created an AutoCAD drawing of four different designs that would create theses 2D representations and interesting patterns with their cut outs. Once I had the four designs I scaled them so there would be three different sizes to interact with each other and create the desired particle effect.

AutoCAD Drawings of Lampshades for Lighting Installation #SadlerSquare

AutoCAD Drawings of Lampshades for Lighting Installation #SadlerSquare

I then used these files to laser cut the shapes out of 4mm MDF. Once I had a few of each size I could see how the pieces interact with each other and plan how I would hang it.

I decided I would hand the pieces with catgut connected together and hung from a wire frame at the top of the window indent. From this I could then start mapping out the overall image.

Lampshade Cutouts for Lighting Installation #SadlerSquare

Lampshade Cutouts for Lighting Installation #SadlerSquare

Once hung the piece will be back lit with a series of LEDs placed along the base of the window indent.

Stay tuned for Part2 of Playing with light #SadlerSquare

This entry was posted in My Designs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing with Light #CQintervention

  1. Pingback: Playing with Light #SadlerSquare – Part 2 | nattilydesign

  2. Pingback: Playing with Light #SadlerSquare – Part 3 | nattilydesign

  3. Pingback: Playing with Light #CQintervention – Part 2 | nattilydesign

Leave a comment