Playing with Light #CQintervention – Part 2

In my post yesterday I explained the third strand of my project Sadler Square discussed in my TEDx talk; lighting installations. I discussed the first piece which was a back lit wooden curtain for a blocked up window, read more here.

The second piece that I am experimenting with are some colourful hand held lights for light painting. I made these from old chewing gum holders from a recycling centre. Inside each one put an LED attached to a cell battery with electrical tape. This created a glow through the coloured plastic.

Hanheld Lights for Light Painting

Hanheld Lights for Light Painting

After these were finished I went to the site with some friends to do some light painting. To do this you set up a long exposure photograph while lights are being moved around. The results were quite beautiful and I would really like to take it further.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m looking at maybe turning some of the results into a projection piece onto Middleton House or into a community project. Stay tuned for more info and the final instalment of Playing with Light!

This entry was posted in My Designs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Playing with Light #CQintervention – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Playing with Light #CQintervention – Part 3 | nattilydesign

Leave a comment